Ludlow Arts: Word

Ludlow Arts: Word

What's on

When Events - click 'more' for details Where
Monday 15 October
7:00 for 7:30pm
Friends of Ludlow Museum — The Walled Garden and Glasshouse at Millichope — A lecture on the restoration by Jack Willgoss ...more Ludlow Museum Resource Centre
Tuesday 16 October
10:00am
Ludlow Lectures — The Teme in Trust — A lecture by Tony Bostock ...more St Laurence, Ludlow
Wednesday 17 October
2:15pm
The Arts Society, Teme Valley — Votes for Women, Suffragettes and Female Politicians — Lecturer: Caroline Shenton ...more Ludlow Assembly Rooms
Thursday 18 October
2:30pm
Ludlow Palmers — Back to Dear Old Blighty — Poet Gareth Owen and local musicians Ann Gray, Martin Thomas and Roger Champkin ...more Ludlow Methodist Church
Tuesday 23 October
10:00am
Ludlow Lectures — St Laurence's Ludlow: 800 years of change — A lecture by Shaun Ward ...more St Laurence, Ludlow
Monday 29 October
10:00am
U3A in Ludlow — The Mayflower Children — Phil Revell tells the true story of Katherine More, transported to America on board the Pilgrim Fathers' ship the Mayflower. ...more Ludlow Assembly Rooms
Tuesday 30 October
10:00am
Ludlow Lectures — Power & Stone — the lasting effect of ecclesiastical, secular and Templar architecture on the Shropshire and Herefordshire landscape — A lecture by Geoffrey Adams ...more St Laurence, Ludlow
Tuesday 6 November
10:00am
Ludlow Lectures — The Broad Gate and Ludlow's defences — A lecture by Michael Page ...more St Laurence, Ludlow
Tuesday 6 November
6:30 for 7:00pm
Life & Learning @ Ludlow — Jeffry Wilcox Memorial Lecture: Priest at a crossroads — The Very Revd Andrew Nunn ...more St Laurence, Ludlow
Tuesday 13 November
10:00am
Ludlow Lectures — Remembrance — internationally, nationally and locally — A lecture by Clive Richardson ...more St Laurence, Ludlow
Wednesday 14 November
4:00pm
Ludlow Civic Society — The Almshouses of Shropshire and Herefordshire: a social and architectural history — Dr Sylvia Pinches ...more Ludlow Methodist Church
Thursday 15 November
10:30am — 3:00pm
Life & Learning @ Ludlow — The Gospel which Turned the World Upside Down — A study day led by the Revd Dr Neil Richardson. ...more Ludlow Mascall Centre
Thursday 15 November
2:30pm
Ludlow Palmers — Now the War is Over — Local historian Derek Beattie talks about life in Ludlow and South Shropshire after the end of the Great War. ...more Ludlow Methodist Church
Monday 19 November
7:00 for 7:30pm
Friends of Ludlow Museum — Fish and Finds: a miscellany — Daniel Lockett and Peter Reavill ...more Ludlow Museum Resource Centre
Wednesday 21 November
2:15pm
The Arts Society, Teme Valley — Alchemy and Adventure — A history of exotic colours and poisonous pigments — Lecturer: Lynne Gibson ...more Ludlow Assembly Rooms
Monday 26 November
10:00am
U3A in Ludlow — A Career in Antiques — Philip Duckworth shares his experiences in the world of the London Auction Houses. ...more Ludlow Assembly Rooms
Thursday 29 November
10:00am — 12:00noon
Life & Learning @ Ludlow — Becoming gods – Salvation in Eastern Orthodoxy — A lecture by the Revd Dr Chris Moore. ...more Ludlow Mascall Centre
2019
Wednesday 9 January
4:00pm
Ludlow Civic Society — The Post-war Renaissance of Ludlow: Building conservation and planning at the turn of the Millennium — Colin Richards ...more Ludlow Methodist Church
Thursday 10 January
10:00am — 12:00noon
Life & Learning @ Ludlow — Parables: Pointed, Provocative and Prophetic Lessons for a Learning Church — A lecture by the Very Revd Prof Martyn Percy ...more Ludlow Mascall Centre
Wednesday 16 January
2:15pm
The Arts Society, Teme Valley Emile — Émil Gallé and René Lalique — Masters of Art Nouveau and Art Deco glass — Lecturer: Charles Hajdamach ...more Ludlow Assembly Rooms
Monday 21 January
7:00 for 7:30pm
Friends of Ludlow Museum — Thomas Telford: the Colossus of Roads — A lecture on the Scottish (and Shropshire) engineer by David de Haan. ...more Ludlow Museum Resource Centre
Thursday 24 January
10:00am — 12:00noon
Life & Learning @ Ludlow — Healthcare Chaplaincy – What’s the point? — A lecture by the Revd Grant Holmes ...more Ludlow Mascall Centre
Wednesday 13 February
4:00pm
Ludlow Civic Society — Paintings in the context of the Picturesque. — Allen Fisher ...more Ludlow Methodist Church
Monday 18 February
7:00 for 7:30pm
Friends of Ludlow Museum — Ludlow Great Novelist: Stanley Weyman — Jim Lawley speaks about the once-popular writer who was born in Ludlow. ...more Ludlow Museum Resource Centre
Wednesday 20 February
2:15pm
The Arts Society, Teme Valley — The Hands of Leonardo d Vinci — Lecturer: Guy Rooker ...more Ludlow Assembly Rooms
Thursday 28 February
10:00am — 12:00noon
Life & Learning @ Ludlow — Finding Wrords for Worship — A lecture by the Revd Canon Chris Walsh ...more Ludlow Mascall Centre
Wednesday 13 March
4:00pm
Ludlow Civic Society — British Impressionism, the influence of French painting on British art. — Brandon Lindberg ...more Ludlow Methodist Church
Thursday 14 March
10:00am — 12:00noon
Life & Learning @ Ludlow — Knowledge of Nature and the Nature of Knowledge — A lecture by the Revd Prof Andrew Gosner ...more Ludlow Mascall Centre
Monday 18 March
7:00 for 7:30pm
Friends of Ludlow Museum — The Three Lives of the Shrewbury Flaxmill Maltings — A talk by Joanna Layton ...more Ludlow Museum Resource Centre
Wednesday 20 March
2:15pm
The Arts Society, Teme Valley — Tibetan Art in Transition — The Buddha Goes Bang — Lecturer: Zara Fleming ...more Ludlow Assembly Rooms
Wednesday 10 April
4:00pm
Ludlow Civic Society — Shropshire and the Borders. Cradle of the Georgian Picturesque. — Rosemary Yallop ...more Ludlow Methodist Church
Monday 15 April
7:00 for 7:30pm
Friends of Ludlow Museum — ...more Ludlow Museum Resource Centre
Wednesday 17 April
2:15pm
The Arts Society, Teme Valley — Same Old: Same New — Lecturer: Aliki Braine ...more Ludlow Assembly Rooms
Wednesday 8 May
4:00pm
Ludlow Civic Society — Annual General Meeting Ludlow Methodist Church
Wednesday 15 May
2:15pm
The Arts Society, Teme Valley — Windsor — The greatest castle in the world — Lecturer: Jonathan Foyle ...more Ludlow Assembly Rooms
LAW logo